Graham had his 6th chemo cycle last Wednesday. I have to say my anxiety was sky high knowing what does happen after last chemo. Especially that last time he started so well and then all of the sudden “crushed” down and had seizures and was unable to do anything for a week.

They have reduced his doze this time to 75%. He seemed to cope well. I’ve worked 4 nights and noticed that when I’m tired after nights my anxiety goes up.

It’s World Cup as well so we have 3 games in a row on TV now. At least he’s happy. At least I suppose the resting after chemo makes some sense. And I don’t mind. I’m not football fan but I like seeing him happy. Well at least as much as he can be.

It wasn’t all good, he still felt washed out and sick. And the over-sensitivity to cold is just awful. His hands and arms are aching all the time. He has pins and needles and cannot touch cold things as they give him electric shock. There is a risk it would never go away and his peripheral nerves would be destroyed forever. But we have 2 more cycles left.

It’s a strange situation. I was even told I may have Generalised Anxiety Disorder. I can explain to myself perfectly well all sensible answers. I can say there is NOTHING I can do. There is no point in worrying as it doesn’t change anything. I know that if things are all right I should take it as a gift and enjoy. But I worry that something bad may happen. Anything. I don’t even know why WHY I see seizures as something that BAD. It’s not pleasant but we come across many unpleasant things in life and kind of deal with it. It’s scary but I’ve seen 9 of them so I suppose it’s not new. I have a feeling if I let myself believe that things are better I’ll get very disappointed soon and then I’ll have another set back. And yes, I dealt with them before so I can deal with another one but I still feel anxious. I’m trying to work on the anxiety cycle and break it but it does take time. Sometimes I even worry a bit that I don’t worry. As I did have days I was actually calmer.

I certainly didn’t expect such a journey inside myself this year. I didn’t expect such a bumpy ride through life this year either. I’m at a bit of a numb point at the moment where I have really no idea which way it will all go. I also have hope and apparently it’s good to have hope but I don’t want to fall crushing down and get bruised again.

Leave a comment